Skouse interior decorating tip #4,080

April 27, 2008

Do you live in a skouse? Does the decor in said skate house scream “I do not live with a woman?” If so, or even if this is not the case, here is a fun project you can do with one of the most common skouse design elements: the pile of old, shredded-all-to-fuck decks in the corner.
First, some background: When we moved here we got some shit from Pottery Barn Kids for our kids’ rooms, so I have been receiving the catalog in the mail ever since. So today, I laughed when I saw this spread therein. The funniest part is the description for the deck-shaped chalkboards.
“Fuckin’ skate kids–always “tagging” everything!!”
This shelving unit, though, seems like it would be a cool idea if fabricated with actual decks–you know, not the kind from bizarro world that have the (main) graphic on the top. I guess one could get some cheapo shelves from wherever, un-grip the decks, and just drill holes through the decks before one mounts the shelves. Or one could place 2×4’s or some shit behind the decks so one could mount the unit on the skouse wall graphics-out.
Fuck, I might actually do this over the summer when I don’t have to work.

ps. Just to clarify, if any of my kids get into skating, I will not redecorate with a “skate” theme. I will, though, encourage the classic “wall collage”–the only thing mags are good for now.

2 Responses to “Skouse interior decorating tip #4,080”

  1. The New Stereo Video said

    watch out though, you might become competition for Pierre-Andre’s new joint…http://skatestudyhouse.com/

  2. ** said

    ha! that shit is intense.“Yes, excuse me while I rip some lines off of my coffee table fabricated from ‘new’ skateboard decks.”

Leave a Reply

